NDC MPs take over majority side in Parliament as drama unfolds


Even before the dissolution of the 7 Parliament, MPs elected from the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have stormed seats on the majority side in parliament.

The elected NDC Members of parliament were seen taking the names of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) MPs, who initially occupied that side, off the desks.

Attempts by Defense Minister, Dominic Nitiwul and Interior Minister, Ambrose Dery to move the NDC MPs to the minority side failed as the NDC MPs insisted that they are now in the majority.


Leadership of the NDC, before a Cape Coast High Court granted an injunction against NDC MP-elect for Assin North,had instructed their members to address themselves as the majority side in Parliament.

With the NDC MP-elect for Assin North who is spotted in paliament inspire the injunction, both parties have the 137 seats each in Parliament, with an Independent Candidate who has chosen to sit on the side of the NPP.

The party had also nominated Alban Sumani Bagbin as the next Speaker of the House.

In an interview with JoyNews’ Elton Brobbey, the Interior Minister, Ambrose Dery described the action of the minority as a forceful takeover.

According to him, there is still a few hours to go before the 7th parliament is dissolved, hence the move by the Minority is unnecessary.


Categories: Ghanaian News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s